Friday, October 25, 2013

Your IB School Guide

Your IB School Guide


INTERNATIONAL BACCALAUREATE he International Baccalaureate board offers three levels Tof programmes for students across age groups. The Primary Years Programme (PYP), Middle Years Programme (MYP) and International Baccalaureate Diploma (IBD).
>> THE PRIMARY YEARS PROGRAMME Meant for students between three to 12 years of age, the PYP was initiated in 1997. The programme focuses on the holistic development of the child as an inquirer, both in the classroom and the outside world. It addresses the student’s academic, social and emotional well-being and is defined by six transdisciplinary themes of global significance, explored using knowledge and skills derived from six subject areas, with a powerful emphasis on inquiry-based learning.
>> THE MIDDLE YEARS PROGRAMME (MYP) The MYP caters to students aged 11 to 16 years. The focus is to enable students to become creative, critical and reflective thinkers. The MYP emphasises intellectual challenge, encouraging students to understand and apply their classroom lessons into the real world. It fosters the development of skills for communication, intercultural understanding and global engagement. It builds upon the lessons of the PYP and prepares students to meet the academic challenges of the IB Diploma Programme and the IB Career-related Certificate (IBCC).
>> THE INTERNATIONAL BACCALAUREATE DIPLOMA (IBD) The IB Diploma programme caters to students aged 16-19 years. The diploma programme teaches students various techniques of learning and grounds them culturally. It helps them communicate better and understand global people from different countries and cultures.
    IB Diploma Programme lets students choose one subject from of five groups, which include two language components, social science, experimental science and mathematics. This ensures that students are exposed to a wide knowledge base. Creativity action and services entails students participating in various activities in the area of creativity, action and service. This means that they work on activities ranging from music and painting to sports and community service.
>> CAMBRIDGE INTERNATIONAL EXAMINATIONS (CIE) Cambridge International Examinations provides international education programmes and qualifications for students aged 5 to 19 years. The IGCSE board offers the Cambridge Primary Programme, Cambridge Secondary I programme, Cambridge Secondary II programme (Cambridge IGCSE/ Cambridge O Level) and the Cambridge International AS and A Level

>> CAMBRIDGE SECONDARY I Cambridge Secondary I is designed for learners aged 11 to 14 years. The programme gives schools a flexible framework for developing skills and understanding English, math and science. The curriculum framework for each subject – English, English as a second language, mathematics and science provides a clear teaching structure that is designed to engage learners in an active and creative learning journey, one reason why it is used by a number of schools globally. Many schools use the Cambridge Secondary I testing structure to assess learner performances. The two assessment methods used for this programme are Cambridge Secondary I progression tests where students are marked for their work in school and the Cambridge Secondary I checkpoint where the student is marked by external examiners affiliated to the CIE.

CAMBRIDGE INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION >> CAMBRIDGE PRIMARY PROGRAMME Tlearners he Cambridge aged 5 Primary to 11 year programme . The programme is developed combines for young unique curriculum, high-quality support for teachers and integrated assessment. There is a Cambridge Primary curriculum
framework for each subject – English, English as a second language, mathematics and science – providing a clear teaching structure. The curriculum enables learners to communicate confidently and effectively and to develop the critical skills to respond to a range of information, media and texts with understanding and enjoyment. Many schools use the integrated assessment to monitor the learners’ progress. The programme also offers high-quality support to teachers; including teaching materials and training to them plan and deliver the programme efficiently. Cambridge Secondary I assessment uses internationally benchmarked tests, giving parents extra trust in the feedback they receive.
>> CAMBRIDGE SECONDARY II (CAMBRIDGE IGCSE/ CAMBRIDGE O LEVEL) Cambridge IGCSE, one of the most popular international qualifications for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognised a number of universities and employers worldwide. Developed over 25 years ago, the curricula is tried, tested and trusted by schools and universities worldwide. The Cambridge IGCSE curriculum offers a variety of routes for learners with a wide range of abilities, including those whose first language is not English. Students can choose from over 70 subjects, including 30 languages, and can choose subjects in the combination of their choice. Cambridge O
Level is an internationally recognised qualification equivalent to Cambridge IGCSE and the UK GCSE.
>> CAMBRIDGE INTERNATIONAL AS AND A LEVEL Over a thousand students gain places at leading universities every year with Cambridge International AS and A Level qualification. The syllabus develops a deep understanding of subjects and independent thinking skills. With over 55 subjects offered, schools can choose and offer a combination of subjects of their choice. This flexibility allows schools to build an individualised curriculum, and learners can choose to specialise in a particular subject area or study a range of subjects. Cambridge International A Level, is a two-year programme and the Cambridge International AS Level is a one-year programme.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts

Total Pageviews


Blog Archive

Follow by Email